The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old April 17, 2018, 08:08 PM   #1
DealHunter

Ruger Bisley 480 vs BFR 475

Just looking for opinions on the the Ruger 480 Bisley SBH and the BFR 475 (Bisley or plough handle).

Never owned or fired a BFR before and a 475 Linebaugh can obviously shoot 480 Ruger but I’m familiar with Ruger Bisleys in 357/41/44 and quite like them.

This would be a fun gun as I have no real world “need” for it except it would fill the size and power gap between 44/454s and 460/500 S&W in the big bore part of my collection and would be fun to shoot. I have no real experience with 480/475 caliber and found myself tempted. Figured I’d ask from those who own or have shot them.
Old April 17, 2018, 08:41 PM   #2
johnwilliamson062

I knew a guy with both and almost every big bore revolver available along with carbines for most.
He told me the 480 Ruger was the best of all of them as far as balance, carry-ability, accuracy, comfort of recoil, etc.
Old April 17, 2018, 08:53 PM   #3
disseminator

I own the 480 Super Blackhawk Bisley.

The 480 is a sweet cartridge. It is a lot more power vs the 44 mag but is still quite manageable to shoot and carry. I also have a 460 XVR that I love but the gun is just huge and cannot really be considered a side arm at all. The 480 SBH on the other hand can be carried on the hip. Though it is a large gun coming in about 50 ounces vs the 75 ounces of the 460 X-frame Smith.

I have hand-loaded a wide selection of loads from 275 Gold Dots at 1600 fps, to the 410 Cast Performance at 1200 and a few more in between and they are all just awesome.