The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 27, 2017, 05:20 PM   #1
bjm42

38 spl case length?

Speer manual states "trim to" length of 1.145. My batch of 100 new Starline cases measure 1.142 to 1.150. I intend to trim all to same exact length. The nice folks @ Starline say I'm okay to trim the lot of cases to 1.142, as they use the SAAMI standard of 1.140 to 1.150. That doesn't match the Speer manual. Obviously, I have much to learn. Advice appreciated... I just want to "Get it right".
Thanks.
Old January 27, 2017, 05:55 PM   #2
NoSecondBest

Size a couple of them and measure them again. They get longer when sized. The manual says to trim to a length shorter than the maximum length simply because these cases will not stretch beyond maximum length ever. I've been shooting some cases I've had for twenty years and I don't even know how many times they've been loaded. After a lot of loadings some of them split near the case mouth, but none...not a one, ever got too long. The only reason to even bother trimming them at all is to start out with all your cases the exact same length. Most of the cases for 38spl and 357mag never get trimmed. They're so close to being the same when new that they all fall into the crimp groove on the bullets I use. FWIW, I own a couple of custom built 357mag handguns that shoot right around an inch at 50yds with these cases and my select load. I'd guess that it's not hurting anything. Good question though and by asking you learn. Best of luck and have fun shooting.
Old January 27, 2017, 06:18 PM   #3
Nick_C_S

1.142 to 1.150 is only eight thousandths. I wouldn't bother trimming them.

I have 2000 Starline 38 Special cases and I have trimmed none of them. They make tac-driver accurate and consistent rounds.