The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old May 14, 2012, 02:03 PM   #1
Noreaster

G19 vs G17 for IDPA

Newbie here for IDPA. I shot a meet with my duty gun, G22, and I had a great time. I'm hooked. I'm gearing up to go every month but I want to go to 9mm for ammo cost. I was going to go with a G17 but found a great deal on a Gen4 G19. Considering IDPA shooting distances and it's only a ten round mag count what do guys think about using a G19? I want to stay with a Glock pistol because it's what I carry as an LEO.
Old May 14, 2012, 02:17 PM   #2
Jim Watson

I think a G17 would have an advantage, a G34 better yet with full size grips and longer sight radius.

The only people I see shooting IDPA with things like G19 are those who are more interested in exercising their defense or duty weapons than they are in running up a good score.

"Great deals" are fleeting, your applications and intentions are what matter.
Old May 14, 2012, 02:35 PM   #3
Ambishot

To be honest it depends on what you're looking to get out of IDPA. If you're looking for improving your gun handling skills and defensive shooting technique, then I would recommend shooting what you carry for duty or something similar. Since you already carry a G22 for duty, it makes sense for you to use a G17 for IDPA, since it is the exact same dimension, excluding the caliber change.

If you're looking into the gaming aspect of IDPA, then the G34 is the better choice as it has some added features. i.e. lighter trigger, longer sight radius etc.

If you're really leaning towards the G19, then go for it. I compete with a gen 3 19 and don't have any problems with the 10 round limit. You'll have that limitation no matter what gun you choose. I have also seen safety officers and some shooters use the G26/27 as well.

Also, welcome to the sport! It's a great past time.

Last edited by Ambishot; May 14, 2012 at 02:36 PM. Reason: more info