The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 26, 2009, 07:06 AM   #1
tpcollins

seat then crimp or seat and crimp - .40 S&W

I've got all of my components finally to load .40 S&W but I'm waiting for my 4 piece Lee dies that are on backorder. I've read the various posts using 3 versus 4 piece dies and as a newbie, I believe the seperate operations with the 4 piece die is best for me.

But with the 3 piece seat and crimp, if the bullet isn't deep enough in the case the first time, can the die be adjusted to reseat the bullet deeper even though it's been crimped? Lee is the only set I've seen that offers a 4 piece die so I'm just trying to understand how the others work with the 3 piece set - it must be simple or they'd all be using seperate operations as well. Thanks.
Old April 26, 2009, 08:09 AM   #2
Doby45

The Lee 4 die sets simply include the Factory Crimp Die. You can use the first three dies and it will be just like any other die set. I personally seat in one step and crimp in the final step. Seating and crimping in one station or separately is simply a preference. No different than someone liking Coke or Pepsi / Chevy or Ford. The reasoning behind the choice can also vary, some like the convenience of doing two things in a single station. Some prefer to use the FCD over the standard taper crimp.
Old April 26, 2009, 08:16 AM   #3
Cloudpeak

I've loaded over 30,000 rounds with lead bullets in 9, 40 & 45 and I've used a separate seating and crimping die and have been happy with the setup. I think there's more concern with "rolling" up a ridge of lead when trying to seat and crimp at the same time.