The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old November 16, 2017, 10:38 PM   #1
Carmike

Splitting stock...

Hello all,

Newbie here. I took my Win 94 Trapper (in .44 mag) hunting last weekend, and when I got home to clean the gun before putting it back in the safe, I noticed there's a small split in the stock. It wasn't there before (as far as I know). The weather was cold, a bit wet, and I did bring the gun from the cold into a warm cabin to dry it off, run a boresnake through it, and wipe it down with a lightly oiled rag to hopefully prevent any rust. The gun wasn't dropped or maltreated in any way, and it was fired at a deer.

Did I do anything wrong, or do stocks just split from time to time? I can attach a photo if that would make a difference in the answers, and I'm honestly not too worried about it, but I would like to prevent it happening to other guns (or getting worse on this one).

Thanks for any tips/advice/suggestions!

Carmike
Old November 16, 2017, 10:53 PM   #2
FrankenMauser

Where did it split?

On lever guns, split wrists (the most common split) are usually caused by one of three things:
1. Bad inletting.
2. Loose tang screw.
3. Using the rifle as a club.

It probably wasn't your fault. It does happen.
Be sure to get it fixed sooner than later, or you may end up having to replace the stock, rather than being able to repair it.
Old November 16, 2017, 10:55 PM   #3
OzeanJaeger

Yes. Some stocks split. Some rifles and shotguns are known for splitting stocks and limbs because of either their design, or the wood they used in that model/batch. I don’t think yours is one, and it may have just been something in the wood. I would call Winchester after you’re done for the season and see what they say. I would wager they tell you to send it in and they’ll put a new one on.
Old November 17, 2017, 12:20 PM   #4
Pahoo

Not by my measure

Quote:
Did I do anything wrong,