The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old December 31, 2008, 06:24 PM   #1
alans49

RCBS Colt 45 Cowboy Dies?

I'm just getting into loading 45 long colt and I bought the RCBS Cowboy Dies. The thing I noticed is that the sizing die is sizing the cases down to
.470. According to my books the outside case diameter should be .480. I tried calling RCBS support line today but it was like they had the phone off the hook. I must have dialed at least 25 times and kept getting a busy signal.
Should these dies be sizing the case down that much?

Thanks for your help and Happy New Year

Alan
Old December 31, 2008, 06:48 PM   #2
long rider

OK lets get things together here , when you say cowboy dies
you mean rcbs 45 colt 3 set dies? is that what you mean,
45 colt is 45 colt at hand gun cases , i have a 45 colt set
dies so lets go from there.
Old December 31, 2008, 07:02 PM   #3
arcticap

Apparently they're sizing the cases to the correct size since RCBS Cowboy Dies are described as being different:

Quote:

RCBS Cowboy Action Dies

Cowboy Dies

Cowboy Action Shooting is just about the fastest growing shooting sport around. Not only are the usual competition traits of speed and accuracy required, but the shooter must recreate the spirit of the 1880s. Guns, ammo and costumes must fit the period. Jacketed bullets aren't permitted by Cowboy Action Shooting (CAS™) rules. Making ammo that fits the Old West image means loading lead bullets. It also means that the bullets must be designed to work properly in lever-action rifles and single-action revolvers. Loading dies must be optimized for lead bullets. That's where the new RCBS Cowboy dies and bullet moulds come in.