The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old February 13, 2008, 04:58 PM   #1
Ridge_Runner

1860 Army .44 Powder Charge Issue

Hello everyone, saw a lot of BP info here and just joined.

I recently acquired a Pietta 1860 Army in case hardened steel with the brass trigger guard.

In the box were 2 owners manuals.

One from Pietta and one from Cabela's.

The Pietta manual calls for a FFFG powder charge of 12-15 grains.

The Cabela's calls for a FFFG charge of 25-35 grains.

I am new to all of this and have been shooting .451 balls with 30 grains of Pioneer with no problems but I would like to hear some real data on what this pistol can handle and what is giving who the best results.

I had someone tell me the pistol can handle as much powder as I can fit as long as the ball still seats but I believe that may be bad advice.

Any help here would be appreciated.
Old February 13, 2008, 06:27 PM   #2
long rider

They say a good load for the 1860 is about 25grns,
thats what i put in my 58 remmy.
Some times i will go up to 30, but i like 22-25grns
its my comfort zone, and 25 is more accurate than
30grns, but all might not agree with me,but what
ever you load shoot safe.

Sod Buster Tried To Pull On Willson.
Old February 13, 2008, 06:33 PM   #3
mykeal

Nope. It's maybe not good advice, but it is correct. The steel framed Italian bp revolvers can all safely handle a full chamber of real black powder. They are all proof tested before shipment.

Now, understand that the full chamber will be about the most inaccurate load you can shoot; a goodly percentage of the powder will be expelled and burned outside the gun (hence lots of smoke and flame and fun), and another goodly percentage will fall to the ground out in front of the gun unburned. But, it will be fun, and lots of people do it.