The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Forum Support > Site Questions and Tech Support (NO FIREARMS QUESTIONS)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 11, 2002, 07:44 PM   #1
Edward429451
Junior member
 
Join Date: November 12, 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 9,494
Can't Quote Paragraphs Anymore...

I used to be able to highlight a paragraph and copy paste into a quote, but lately it'll only paste the first line of the paragraph.

Did I click on the wrong thing and change something accidently? Or maybe the function was changed to save bandwidth?

Help me out here, computer illiterate.
Edward429451 is offline  
Old August 11, 2002, 07:48 PM   #2
Mal H
Staff
 
Join Date: March 20, 1999
Location: Somewhere in the woods of Northern Virginia
Posts: 16,047
Copy and paste is strictly a function of your own operating system, i.e., Windows, Unix, etc. TFL can't affect those functions. Check to see if copy/paste works properly in a word processing programming.
Mal H is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 12:06 AM   #3
Edward429451
Junior member
 
Join Date: November 12, 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 9,494
My System? D'oh!
Edward429451 is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 10:24 AM   #4
BenW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 15, 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 282
Well, I have to jump to Edward's defense here. I have never been able to quote more than the first line of a paragraph on TFL using the quote window. Using the same function on 1911forum, I've never seen a limit. Text I highlight here always shows up completely pasted into any other program. Caveat: This only occurs in the quote window itself. If I hit paste in the composition window, no problemo.
BenW is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 10:41 AM   #5
Edward429451
Junior member
 
Join Date: November 12, 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 9,494
Same here, although I do admit not having tried it in any other windows but TFL lately...
Edward429451 is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 10:53 AM   #6
Mal H
Staff
 
Join Date: March 20, 1999
Location: Somewhere in the woods of Northern Virginia
Posts: 16,047
Quote:
Well, I have to jump to Edward's defense here. I have never been able to quote more than the first line of a paragraph on TFL using the quote window. Using the same function on 1911forum, I've never seen a limit. Text I highlight here always shows up completely pasted into any other program. Caveat: This only occurs in the quote window itself. If I hit paste in the composition window, no problemo.
I just used the quote window to copy and paste the above post. The entire post made it ok. So I'm not sure what is going wrong.

I have a theory which I will test in a second after posting this.
Mal H is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 10:59 AM   #7
Mal H
Staff
 
Join Date: March 20, 1999
Location: Somewhere in the woods of Northern Virginia
Posts: 16,047
Quote:
I just used the quote window to copy and paste the above post. The entire post made it ok. So I'm not sure what is going wrong.
Ah ha! My theory was correct. When a line break is encountered, the quote window stops quoting. That's a bug in vBulletin code and we can't fix it here on TFL.


The following is what I actually copied and will now paste it between the typed out {quote}{/quote} tags.

Quote:
I just used the quote window to copy and paste the above post. The entire post made it ok. So I'm not sure what is going wrong.

I have a theory which I will test in a second after posting this.
So the bottom line is to type in the quote /quote tags when quoting more than one paragraph.
Mal H is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 11:38 AM   #8
Rich Lucibella
Staff
 
Join Date: October 6, 1998
Location: South Florida
Posts: 10,224
Quote:
quote:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just used the quote window to copy and paste the above post. The entire post made it ok. So I'm not sure what is going wrong.
------------------------------------------------------------------------


Ah ha! My theory was correct. When a line break is encountered, the quote window stops quoting. That's a bug in vBulletin code and we can't fix it here on TFL.


The following is what I actually copied and will now paste it between the typed out {quote}{/quote} tags.


quote:
------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just used the quote window to copy and paste the above post. The entire post made it ok. So I'm not sure what is going wrong.

I have a theory which I will test in a second after posting this.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

So the bottom line is to type in the quote /quote tags when quoting more than one paragraph.
__________________
S.W.A.T. Magazine
Weapons, Training and Tactics for the Real World
Join us at TFL or at AR15.com or on Facebook
Rich Lucibella is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 11:38 AM   #9
Rich Lucibella
Staff
 
Join Date: October 6, 1998
Location: South Florida
Posts: 10,224
What am I missing?
Rich
__________________
S.W.A.T. Magazine
Weapons, Training and Tactics for the Real World
Join us at TFL or at AR15.com or on Facebook
Rich Lucibella is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 01:21 PM   #10
Edward429451
Junior member
 
Join Date: November 12, 2000
Location: Colorado Springs, Colorado
Posts: 9,494
Quote:
Well, I have to jump to Edward's defense here. I have never been able to quote more than the first line of a paragraph on TFL using the quote window. Using the same function on 1911forum, I've never seen a limit. Text I highlight here always shows up completely pasted into any other program. Caveat: This only occurs in the quote window itself. If I hit paste in the composition window, no problemo.
Huh. No problem now. I can do 1 paragraph, but not 2. No biggie there.

This kind of, has a problem but can't find a problem type of stuff happens to the newer furnaces frequently. Customer calls with problem, I show up to find no problem. Problem starts again after I leave. Unless it has a problem and demonstrates it right in front of you, theres little you can do...

I call them problems electronic hiccups. TFL may have an intermittent electronic hiccup. (You can't trust anything more mechanical than a knife & fork.)

Thanks all.
Edward429451 is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 02:08 PM   #11
[email protected]
Wise Guy
 
Join Date: October 10, 1998
Posts: 665
Actually, typically where that "Staff Use" button is there is a "Quote" button as well. That is what you are suppossed to use to quote large blocks of text. The Quote button you see on top of the message window is only meant for one line of text - the button that has been commented out below is meant to quote the entire reply.

For some reason it's just been disabled here.

Kevin
__________________
Kevin Jon Schlossberg
Owner, BladeForums.com
www.bladeforums.com
spark@onestopknifeshop.com is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 02:20 PM   #12
Mal H
Staff
 
Join Date: March 20, 1999
Location: Somewhere in the woods of Northern Virginia
Posts: 16,047
Rich - Did you paste my post contents between "quote" tags or did you use the quote button which is one of the tools directly above the reply text window and paste the text into that? I suspect the former.

Spark - Please don't suggest bringing back the "reply with quote" feechur.

Edward - Please read my explanation above again. The paragraph from BenW had no line breaks, so it works fine in the quote window.
Mal H is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 02:38 PM   #13
Rich Lucibella
Staff
 
Join Date: October 6, 1998
Location: South Florida
Posts: 10,224
Mal-
I posted within quote tags like I always do.

I don't even have a Quote Button. No kidding.
Mac OS X
IE 5.2
Rich
__________________
S.W.A.T. Magazine
Weapons, Training and Tactics for the Real World
Join us at TFL or at AR15.com or on Facebook
Rich Lucibella is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 02:40 PM   #14
Rich Lucibella
Staff
 
Join Date: October 6, 1998
Location: South Florida
Posts: 10,224
Doh!
Oh, THAT Quote button!

Youse guys need to stop micromanaging!
Rich
__________________
S.W.A.T. Magazine
Weapons, Training and Tactics for the Real World
Join us at TFL or at AR15.com or on Facebook
Rich Lucibella is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 02:40 PM   #15
BenW
Senior Member
 
Join Date: December 15, 2001
Location: CA
Posts: 282
Quote:
So the bottom line is to type in the quote /quote tags when quoting more than one paragraph.
Yup, that's pretty much what I've been doing when I have the urge for a verbose reply.

No big deal and easy enough to do.
BenW is offline  
Old August 12, 2002, 03:12 PM   #16
Mal H
Staff
 
Join Date: March 20, 1999
Location: Somewhere in the woods of Northern Virginia
Posts: 16,047
That's ok Rich. I didn't know it was there either until the guys above pointed it out. Never used it until today.
Mal H is offline  
Old August 13, 2002, 02:30 PM   #17
[email protected]
Wise Guy
 
Join Date: October 10, 1998
Posts: 665
Quote:
Spark - Please don't suggest bringing back the "reply with quote" feechur.
Why not? For those reallllllly long posts, it's a hell of a lot easier to use that than to try to copy and paste text. Not to mention it's formated a lot better. Trying to reply to Skor or Bahudar or others who post reams, while copying and pasting information out of the page itself, then editing out the line feeds, etc is a pain in the ass.

Look, if you don't trust the membership enough to use it right, that's ok. Past that, I don't see why it's not there.

Kevin
__________________
Kevin Jon Schlossberg
Owner, BladeForums.com
www.bladeforums.com
spark@onestopknifeshop.com is offline  
Old August 13, 2002, 03:53 PM   #18
Rich Lucibella
Staff
 
Join Date: October 6, 1998
Location: South Florida
Posts: 10,224
Spark-
It's not a question of not "trusting" the Membership. It's an issue of the abuse factor that we've had with it. I don't like the feature and I removed it. That's why they call it "Open Source", no?
Rich
__________________
S.W.A.T. Magazine
Weapons, Training and Tactics for the Real World
Join us at TFL or at AR15.com or on Facebook
Rich Lucibella is offline  
Old August 13, 2002, 06:46 PM   #19
[email protected]
Wise Guy
 
Join Date: October 10, 1998
Posts: 665
Abuse is one thing - heck I've had more than a fair share of people abusing Hotmail.com & Excite.com email addresses - it's just a matter of being on the ball and stopping it when it happens.
I can understand the reasons behind such a decision, I just don't agree with them. But, I've got my own board to run - and this is yours, so I respect your decision not to allow it.

As for open source - this is actually third party software under license, you are just allowed to change the interface. Just nitpicking bud!

Kevin
__________________
Kevin Jon Schlossberg
Owner, BladeForums.com
www.bladeforums.com
spark@onestopknifeshop.com is offline  
Old August 13, 2002, 07:08 PM   #20
Rich Lucibella
Staff
 
Join Date: October 6, 1998
Location: South Florida
Posts: 10,224
Quote:
As for open source - this is actually third party software under license, you are just allowed to change the interface. Just nitpicking bud!
Shoulda known I'd loose that argument.
Rich
__________________
S.W.A.T. Magazine
Weapons, Training and Tactics for the Real World
Join us at TFL or at AR15.com or on Facebook
Rich Lucibella is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2018 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07660 seconds with 8 queries