The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Forum Support > Site Questions and Tech Support (NO FIREARMS QUESTIONS)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 16, 2000, 10:11 AM   #1
larry408
Member
 
Join Date: October 16, 1999
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 40
Is anyone having problems with the new posts being flagged? This is the only forum that I am having problems with. I have cookies turned on and have tried resetting my preferences, but it has not helped.
larry408 is offline  
Old September 16, 2000, 10:25 PM   #2
TheBluesMan
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: June 15, 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,558
What do you mean by, "being flagged," Larry?

Do you mean that the yellow folders don't turn pink? Or that the Forum doesn't show that there are new posts since your last visit? (i.e. Crosshairs / Bullet holes)

A little more information and we can help you out, hopefully.
TheBluesMan is offline  
Old September 17, 2000, 08:16 AM   #3
larry408
Member
 
Join Date: October 16, 1999
Location: NW Arkansas
Posts: 40
Are I am showing is yellow flags. It is not listing the new post since my last log-on.
larry408 is offline  
Old September 19, 2000, 06:35 AM   #4
Manny99
Member
 
Join Date: September 13, 2000
Posts: 22
I'm also having a problem. My browser is set to receive all cookies, and I have set preferences to store the User Name and Password, but when I want to reply to a post I still have to enter my User Name and Password.

What is wrong?
Manny
Manny99 is offline  
Old September 19, 2000, 08:42 AM   #5
Gunslinger
Junior member
 
Join Date: January 5, 1999
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 2,105
Y'all might want to check your Internet Preferences settings. Make sure they are set to "every visit to a page".

------------------
Gunslinger

I was promised a Shortycicle and I want a Shortycicle!
Gunslinger is offline  
Old September 19, 2000, 06:26 PM   #6
Manny99
Member
 
Join Date: September 13, 2000
Posts: 22
To Gunslinger:

Where is "every visit to a page" found?

Manny
Manny99 is offline  
Old September 19, 2000, 07:55 PM   #7
terridarri
Senior Member
 
Join Date: January 28, 2000
Location: Aurora, CO
Posts: 373
Go to your computer settings and click on internet settings and then go and click on settings and then click on everytime you visit the web page.

------------------
WHEN IT COMES TO FRIENDS THE SKY IS NOT THE LIMIT
terridarri is offline  
Old September 19, 2000, 08:06 PM   #8
Manny99
Member
 
Join Date: September 13, 2000
Posts: 22
Sorry to be a pain about this, but exactly where do you get to the settings you mentioned? I'm using Netscape and can't find these settings anywhere.

Thanks.

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by terridarri:
Go to your computer settings and click on internet settings and then go and click on settings and then click on everytime you visit the web page.
[/quote]

Manny99 is offline  
Old September 19, 2000, 09:37 PM   #9
Gunslinger
Junior member
 
Join Date: January 5, 1999
Location: Springfield, Missouri
Posts: 2,105
No problem at all Manny.
Click on "start", then.....
Scroll up to "settings", then....
Click on "Control Panel", then...
Double click on "Internet Options", then..
Click in "Settings"....
You should see a list of options. Choose the top setting, "every visit to page".

I hope this works. We have to "reset" ours constantly while on line. But then I'm by now means a computer wise. In fact it is a miracle that I am even here.

------------------
Gunslinger

I was promised a Shortycicle and I want a Shortycicle!
Gunslinger is offline  
Old September 19, 2000, 10:25 PM   #10
Manny99
Member
 
Join Date: September 13, 2000
Posts: 22
Thanks, Gunslinger.

Unfortunately, that setting was checked so I guess I'll just have to memorize my password. Seems to be getting harder at my age.

Thanks, again.
Manny

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Gunslinger:
[B]No problem at all Manny.
Click on "start", then.....
Scroll up to "settings", then....
Manny99 is offline  
Old September 20, 2000, 11:35 AM   #11
Caeca Invidia Es
Staff Alumnus
 
Join Date: November 18, 1999
Location: Earth
Posts: 834
The "Internet Settings" in the control panel doesn't affect the settings for Netscape, only Microsoft Internet Explorer.... I can't think right off hand where it is for netscape, but I'll let you know as soon as I can find it again.

------------------
Wisdom only comes when the mouth closes and the mind opens.
Caeca Invidia Es is offline  
Old September 20, 2000, 12:00 PM   #12
George Hill
Staff Alumnus
 
Join Date: October 14, 1998
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 11,546
Just change your password to something you can easily remember...
You only have to type it once per session.
George Hill is offline  
Old September 20, 2000, 12:37 PM   #13
TheBluesMan
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: June 15, 1999
Location: Ohio
Posts: 7,558
For Netscape on a PC:

Click on the Edit menu, select Preferences...

In the preferences dialog box, click the '+' sign next to 'Advanced.'

Click on 'Cache'

Be sure that "Every Time" is selected under "Document in cache is compared to..."

Click 'OK'

That should do it.
TheBluesMan is offline  
Old September 20, 2000, 10:11 PM   #14
Manny99
Member
 
Join Date: September 13, 2000
Posts: 22
OK, I'll try it and let you know.
Manny
Manny99 is offline  
Old September 20, 2000, 10:21 PM   #15
Manny99
Member
 
Join Date: September 13, 2000
Posts: 22
To: TheBluesMan
Didn't work. Still have to enter User Name and Password. Thanks for taking the time.

To: George Hill
I give up trying to get this to work. How do I change my password? Thanks,
Manny
Manny99 is offline  
Old September 21, 2000, 08:22 AM   #16
Eric of IN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: April 4, 2000
Posts: 425
Manny, Click on the "profile" link, it's up near the TFL logo. It'll ask you for your name and current password. Enter taht, and hit the "ok" button ( I think that's what it says, but it may be "submit". The next page will be your profile. The password is the second line down, change it to whatever you want, change anything else that you feel like, then hit the "submit" button down at the bottom of the page. After that, it'll send you to the "Forum's Summary" page, and your password will be the new one.
Eric
Eric of IN is offline  
Old September 21, 2000, 10:11 PM   #17
Cliff
Senior Member
 
Join Date: November 19, 1999
Location: Saranap, CA
Posts: 473
Manny - IIRC, TFL (and all UBS software for that matter) uses a "cookie" stored by your browser to "remember" your password.

If you're still having problems, select the "preferences" link at the top of the page, and then click on the link that says "delete all cookies"

After that, try a test post. You'll be asked for your password. Thereafter, you shouldn't be prompted.

Cliff
Cliff is offline  
Old September 21, 2000, 11:12 PM   #18
Manny99
Member
 
Join Date: September 13, 2000
Posts: 22
OK, here's the test post
Manny99 is offline  
Old September 21, 2000, 11:17 PM   #19
Manny99
Member
 
Join Date: September 13, 2000
Posts: 22
Cliff,

It worked partially. I have to re-enter the password & user name if I enter TFL after restarting Netscape.

Anyway, I did change the password, so this is not a big deal and not wort everybody's trying anymore.

Thanks for helping.

Manny
Manny99 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
This site and contents, including all posts, Copyright © 1998-2016 S.W.A.T. Magazine
Copyright Complaints: Please direct DMCA Takedown Notices to the registered agent: thefiringline.com
Contact Us
Page generated in 0.07116 seconds with 8 queries