The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Gear and Accessories

Old December 17, 2008, 04:43 PM   #1
Te Anau

Liner-lock vs Lock-back knife?

I have a cheap liner-lock (Frost???)that I have been using for several years and all of a sudden it is releasing under pressure and will be tossed in the trash and replaced with a nice little (sliding blade design ) CRKT that I got last year for Christmas.Anyway,my question is this.In terms of raw strength of design which of these is better under pressure,the liner-lock or lock-back?
Old December 17, 2008, 06:01 PM   #2
Pahoo

Generally, Liner-Locks. No notch on hinge end of blade.

Be Safe !!!
Old December 17, 2008, 06:05 PM   #3
drail

I think it has more to do with the quality control and fitting tolerances than with either design. But if you need to do a job that requires enough force to overcome or make the locking mechanism fail, you should be using a fixed blade. Folding knives are nice to carry but in real world use if the lock can fail (and Murphy is always on the job) it will probably hurt you pretty bad. I don't trust any folder enough to push it to the limits. Be careful.
Old December 18, 2008, 10:45 PM   #4
Son of Seeker

It depends on quality of brand, but typically liner locks are better.
Old December 18, 2008, 11:27 PM   #5
scorpion_tyr

CRKT makes some GREAT knives. That's all I really carry anymore. Got issued a Benchmade auto and broke the tip off within a week. Finished the job with my CRKT. Yes I know, not supposed to pry stuff with a knife, but if it'll do the job why not? I'm a little rough with my knives cause I'm used to brands such as CRKT that can handle it. As for liner lock or lockback? Liner lock with the strict rule that it is a name brand. CRKT have that nice safety release. I had a cheap liner lock that helped me see what my finger bones look like when it decided to close on my hand with a serrated blade. And I wasn't even abusing that one