The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 25, 2014, 11:19 PM   #1
Bwell

Screwed up decriming primer pocket, need advice.

I am new to reloading and just start last week with my case prep.

While decrimping primer pockets i noticed I was using a large reamer instead of a small. I never went all the way with the ream, pretty much got a lip on it (though thats how it was suppose to be) to help the primer slide in.

Did I just ruin a bunch of brass or is it still usable?

I can post picture soon.
Old January 25, 2014, 11:40 PM   #2
Romeo 33 Delta

Try priming some of the cases with spent primers. In doing that, does anything feel "different" ... like seating with absolutely no resistance or does it seem to require your usual pressure?

If that seems to work OK ... try a number of cases with new primers and try firing them in your firearm ... do they go off?

I should think those two tests will help answer your questions.

BTW ... DON'T IT JUST PLAIN TWIST YOUR CORK RIGHT OFF WHEN YOU SCREW UP SOMETHING "SIMPLE" ?

If you ain't screwed something up ... you just ain't been reloading long enough! The important thing is the LEARN from those MESS UPS. If you never make the same mistake twice ... that's progress up the learning curve!
Old January 25, 2014, 11:45 PM   #3
Bwell

I'll do that, I haven't gotten to the point of priming yet. When I do, I will use several cases that didn't need reamed to see how they feel, then try with the reamed ones. I only did about 200 out of a thousand so it's not horrible but still makes me feel sick that I didn't notice that.
Old January 25, 2014, 11:52 PM   #4
skywag

You DID notice that! Throw them away.....no big deal.
Old January 26, 2014, 12:18 AM   #5
Bwell

The one on the right didn't need reamed.
Old January 26, 2014, 12:19 AM   #6
Bwell