The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old May 7, 2022, 08:48 PM   #1
chris in va

1911 jam

Here is a pic of the last round jam I've been having trouble with.

image hosting

It's as if the case is trying to reinsert itself backward in the mag somehow. All the others eject fine.

Last edited by chris in va; May 7, 2022 at 09:00 PM.
Old May 7, 2022, 09:06 PM   #2
JasonD67

Does this happen with all your mags?
Old May 7, 2022, 09:11 PM   #3
mehavey

You sure the ejector isn't broken off short?
Old May 7, 2022, 09:14 PM   #4
chris in va

Not sure what a normal 1911 ejector looks like, here's a pic.

I have a Wilson Combat mag, Kimber mag and ACT. Problems seem to happen with the first two, haven't used the ACT much.
Old May 8, 2022, 12:01 AM   #5
mehavey

That looks like normal ejector protrusion.
It "ought" to be kicking" that last case out.
tis a puzzlement....
Old May 8, 2022, 01:08 AM   #6
Aguila Blanca
Staff

Is the extractor too loose or too tight?
Jeepaholic
Old May 8, 2022, 02:00 AM   #7
JohnKSa
Staff

Normally on the last round, the gun would lock open. If that were happening, then it couldn't try to close on the empty and you wouldn't get the malfunction that you are seeing.

So there are two problems.

1. The gun should be locking open on the last round and it is not.

2. The ejection isn't as vigorous as it should be and so when the gun fails to lock open, the empty is hanging around to get jammed in the action when the slide closes.

I would start with #1 and solve it first because it's possible that whatever is preventing the slide from locking open is also contributing to weak ejection.
Old May 8, 2022, 06:26 AM   #8
mehavey

Following up on JohnKSa:

Does the gun reliably lock open when the slide is manually operated on an empty magazine?

If yes...

Are you shooting commercial ammunition ?

If yes...

Does this problem occur with all commercial ammunition ?

If yes...