The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: Semi-automatics

Old December 5, 2017, 12:32 AM   #1
rcase1234

Anyone into finishing 80% Lowers

Hello All and long time no see after a long while off the forum! Well the gun bug came back with a vengeance and after many successful AR builds I am looking to try something new. Anyone here into finishing 80% receivers and can point me into the right direction to get started? Where should I be looking as far as jigs and quality lowers (7075 please) to machine? Now I have been doing some research and am looking at the 80% Arms jig for $230 that can be used with a simple handheld router and drill press. Any experience?? Sorry for all the questions I am new to this and am trying to get some good introductory info before diving in head first. Thanks in advance for any response
Old December 5, 2017, 03:54 PM   #2
WW2

I have done a couple

I strongly recommend using the router method as the drill press method is far more difficult to control. I recommend this one: https://www.300-blackoutupper.com/co...-arms-easy-jig if you are going to build an AR-15. The newest jig plus tools is here: https://www.300-blackoutupper.com/co...-ar-15-308-jig and will work for both AR15 and AR10 lowers!

I used the earlier version of this with a full size router and got decent results. However, I STRONGLY recommend using the small "Laminate Trimmer" type router. Make sure that the base is small and does not have a large gap between the bit and the side of the router. My full size router had a 5 inch diameter hole around the bit and was a bit difficult to use as a result.