The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old January 14, 2017, 10:03 PM   #1
Hylander

Cowboy Revolver, Which one ?

OK, I'm going to order a new Cowboy .45 Colt 5.5"
Can't decide which one
Really like the Uberti 1873 and also like Vaquero but leaning more to the Uberti.
However there are several models and not sure what the differences are.
Such as the Cattleman.
There is the Old Cattleman, new frame Cattleman, Cattleman II
The Gun Fighter, the Gambler
Heeeelp
Old January 14, 2017, 10:53 PM   #2
Targa

I dont know all the differences but there guys on here that have forgotten more about revolvers than I will ever know, maybe they will chime in. As for me, give me a Uberti/Cimarron case color hardened finish in .357 or .45 lc please.

Last edited by Targa; January 14, 2017 at 11:03 PM.
Old January 14, 2017, 10:57 PM   #3
cpt-t

Hylander: I have no experience with Uberti Pistol`s so I can`t help You there. But I have been Shooting Original Ruger Vaqueros since they came out in the 1990`s. In about every Barrel length Ruger makes. And most of them are in 45LC`s and Stainless Steel. And I have never had any type of of a problem with any of them I use them for just about everything. I am a die hard Ruger Fan and IMHO You would be hard pressed to find a better SA Cowboy Gun. Than a Ruger Vaquero or a Blackhawk.
ken
Old January 15, 2017, 08:15 AM   #4
redrick

I would stay away from the Cattleman II , it has a new designed trigger & hammer firing system . They call it the retractable firing pin , the firing pin only comes out when you pull the trigger and if you like your gun to have 4 clicks , it now only has 3 with this new retractable firing pin. I think they are worried about the lawyers now . By the end of this year I was told by a Uberti Rep. that all of there SAA revolvers would have this system .