The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 13, 2008, 04:14 PM   #1
.38SPL enthusiast

Trouble with Lee Classic Loader

Hi, I am new to reloading and have a problem I'm hoping others here have seen. I purchased a .38 Special Lee Classic Handloader and have been trying to load Hornaby 148 grain Wadcutters, but I keep having trouble with the crimping tool. Lead from the bullets always gets driven out of the cases and onto the crimped rims. I discovered this first when I attempted to chamber one of my shells and it wouldn't go in. I had to take a pocket knife and peel back the lead from the case rim to get the shell to chamber. Does any one have any input?
Old July 13, 2008, 04:48 PM   #2
Bboomer

I'm not familiar with your press but it sounds like your bullets are being shaved by either;

1: You are not getting enough BELL on your case mouth
2: Adjust your crimp die, you may be crimping the bullet before the bullet is fully seated. Thats why I prefer to seat and crimp in separate stages.

Probably number one above.
Old July 13, 2008, 10:01 PM   #3
Sidetracked

The problem is actually the tools themselves. (Hand held tools, used with a hammer. For those unfamiliar.)

The .38 Special Lee Classic Loader does not include a belling tool.

Bboomer was right. It's not enough bell on the case mouth. The case is shaving lead from the bullet as it is seated. So... you will need to improvise by finding a way to bell it yourself, find a hand tool from another company that will do it, or use jacketed bullets that won't be cut by the case.

I'm sorry. It really sucks that Lee overlooked one of the most important steps in pistol reloading, and left you hanging.
Old July 14, 2008, 01:22 AM   #4
Ifishsum