The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Competition Shooting

Old December 15, 2007, 03:34 AM   #1
3gunfreak

IDPA practice

I have been shooting IDPA for a few years and have been "toying"(literally) with the idea of buying an airsoft gun to plink around with. I'm guessing it would probably be easier to find places to setup "movers" and "turners" and work on sight aqusition. I have heard some of the airsoft are almost identical to the real things in weight and feel.

Any thoughts?
Old December 17, 2007, 10:00 PM   #2
1SOW

My son is getting ready to start shooting USPSA. He's been playing in the backyard (:-) with a CO2 BB semiauto that looks and grips like a cross between a Sig and an XD. Actually, he can run and gun, pop tin cans, and pop-pop paper. Gun safety, handling, pointing, siting etc can be practiced.

I think you could get a little more realistic range from CO2....maybe more fun too.

Last edited by 1SOW; December 18, 2007 at 03:12 PM.
Old December 20, 2007, 05:45 AM   #3
evan1293

If you go the airsoft route go with a green gas blowback model. These are very good replicas both in terms of apperance and function to the real thing. I have a kwa glock 17 and couldn't be happier with it. The accuracy is good enough within distances that handguns are typically used in. The GGBlowback guns are what most people are using for force on force training these days.
Old December 20, 2007, 12:37 PM   #4
RickB