The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Lock and Load: Live Fire Exercises

Old September 14, 1999, 04:37 AM   #1
George Hill
Staff Alumnus

As you may already know - I have a Bushmaster with a 16 inch heavy barrel. It is set up like an M-4 and is a very nasty looking gun. Well, I had a lot of ammunition on hand - several cases that needed storage... Well, any selfrespecting shooter knows you cant just stow ammo away like a squirl with out going out and trying it. So Sunday right after church I headed out into the desert in my old beat up Jeep Commando (With new front end - long story) The Commando is a great shooting platform... And benched in the back with rifle resting on the spare tire I was able to make some good shots. I had a few other brands on hand other than my Winchester white boxed 55 grainers. I had some Hornady, and some Federal as well. I found that with the Hornady ammo I was getting consistant hits out at the furthest ranges on these pesky P-dogs... The Winchester stuff was good at only 2/3rds the range. 200 vs 300 yards.
The key to accurate shooting at these ranges is range finding. And to do this - I had a Sherpa guide... kidding. Since I did not have a rangfinder optical or lazer with me... I did it the old fasioned way - I walked the range and placed little orange flags that I had from a construction site. ( ) Turns out my pace was off a bit but close enough...

My wife was with me, and a cousin... who I decline to admit she is a blood relative. All those Blonde jokes? They fit her like her undersized t-shirts...

I was using a Burris variable - 3-9X and even if it was on sale for 39.95, it worked fine... A red dot is fine for in the city - but out in the desert you want to zoom in to the ful Ninth power.