The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 17, 2019, 10:42 AM   #1
Jambuster

Problem with Lee Collet neck sizing die

This has happened with a 223 and a 22 hornet collet die in the last year. In both cases i am neck sizing new brass and after 20 or 30 rounds it gets moe and more difficult to extract the case. Then the case neck breaks off and is stuck on the mandrel. This requires a replacement mandrel. In both cases i was using new brass of a type i have never used before : for the 223 it was American Eagle ; for the 22 Hornet it was Privi Partazan.

I. Have used these dies for thousands of rounds. Mostly Remington and Winchester. No problems
Old March 17, 2019, 10:56 AM   #2
wild willy

Did you try lubing the inside of the case neck.I had it happen twice in a thousand new L.C. I was able to get the neck off the die haven't had it happen since
Old March 17, 2019, 11:50 AM   #3
1stmar

Generally speaking most new brass is already sized. You are likely expanding the case mouth not sizing it down. You may be getting brass shavings on the mandrel.
Old March 17, 2019, 12:01 PM   #4
std7mag

First off, leave nothing to chance.
Full length size new brass. If you have a tight chamber, are you sure you are even going to be able to close the bolt?
Check trim length on new brass. Very few have i run accross that i didn't trim some off after sizing.
Camfer/deburr.
I also uniform my primer pockets, and uniform/deburr the flash holes.

As for the necks coming off the casings on a collet die, that is indeed strange!
The deprime/expander on the collet die is smooth. (Except for the portion on the end which fits through the flash hole to deprime)

I'm guessing you have it set incorrectly, and are squeezing the neck onto the "expander" shaft.
Try loosening the die in the press some, and lube inside of case neck.

"Januarary 6th insurrection".
Funny, I didn't see a single piece of rope...