The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Black Powder and Cowboy Action Shooting

Old February 6, 2006, 05:48 PM   #1
barnetmill

burst firing muzzle loaders

I recall that there was a way of loading muzzle loaders with multiple charges in line. You ignited the anterior charge and about a second later the wadding between the first charge and the 2nd would ignite the 2nd charge in so on. Once it started it would not stop until all loaded charges were fired.

Does anyone know if this was considered full auto? I believe this was intended for naval engagements about the very early 19th century.
Old February 6, 2006, 06:30 PM   #2
J.D.B.

You're not thinking of trying this are you? Sounds really.....different. I've only got about 13 years experience muzzle loading but have never heard of this layering idea. Keep researching it, maybe here:http://www.militaryhistoryonline.com...s/Default.aspx
Someone of those scholars over there would be good to ask. Real nice and helpful group, too.
Josh
Old February 6, 2006, 06:38 PM   #3
CobrayCommando

At Gettysburg muzzleloaders were often found loaded with 27 shots in them. The low pressures and heavy barrels of the day meant that no harm would be done by having the barrel obstructed.

PS the reason they were loaded this way was because soldiers would mime shooting, then load the gun, and mime shooting etc. The vast majority of soldiers in the civil war deliberately aimed their gun away from the enemy or simply didn't fire.

Hence battle lines could form 100 feet away from each other and shoot for hours with only 5-10 percent casualties. Until the inevitable bayonet charge that is.
Old February 6, 2006, 07:10 PM   #4
deadin

Great way to blow up a gun! Pray tell, how does one fire the "anterior" load?
The nipple channel connects to the rearmost load.
There were experiments with this type of loading with multiple nipples and hammers. Even one in flintlock with a sliding lock. None were reliable.