The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old August 1, 2006, 03:59 PM   #1
kenneth owens

reloaders history

hey fellow reloaders how did you get your first start at reloading??
I never had a clue it would be so ADDICTING!!! I got my first start from
my dad he gets all the credit Im so thankfull for him he shot competition for
years(rifle,pistol) has lots of trophies also. he got out of it for awhile now the both of us are reloading junkies!!
Old August 1, 2006, 04:11 PM   #2
Scorch

My brother started me in relaoding. I started reloading for my 30-30 in 1975 because it was cheaper than buying ammo. I got real good at it when I started shooting on a team with my 45 ACP. Then i took up varminting and would shoot one weekend and reload the next. I got tired of all the work and bought a Lee Pro1000 when they first appeared about 1986, and found out why my friends were all buying progressive presses.
Old August 1, 2006, 06:05 PM   #3
amamnn

I started at age 7 helping my grandfather and my dad reload shotshells. When I was considered proficient at that, they let me help reload rifle and revolver ammo. By the time I was 10 I was loading it all, and all by myself. Dad and grandad were drinking beer and listening to the football games. 49 years later, I still load it all and don't bother with watching football on TV.
Old August 2, 2006, 02:07 PM   #4

I discovered either I needed to quit shooting or I needed to learn to load. I started loading in 1970. I bought a Rock Chucker, powder measure, scale and a couple of books. I read the books and started loading. I've loaded over 350K metallic rounds since then.
Old August 2, 2006, 02:23 PM   #5
M1911

I bought a Dillon 550 some years back, read a reloading book, watched the Dillon video, and had at it. It's not hard.
Old August 2, 2006, 08:52 PM   #6
JJB2