The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: General Handgun Forum

Old December 19, 2016, 01:51 AM   #1
NateKirk

Shoulder holster opinions

I've been thinking on getting a vertical shoulder holster to carry my CZ 75 around in for the winter. Anyone use a shoulder holster? Anyone hate them? I've never used one or even tried one on before.

Seeing as how in the winter I usually am wearing a coat around town, and hardly ever take it off (I just unbutton it while indoors,) a shoulder holster would be a more accessible but still concealable option than an OWB or IWB holster, just because I could just reach down the front of my coat, instead of trying to reach back under a heavy winter coat. Your thoughts?

― --Thomas Jefferson
Old December 19, 2016, 02:39 AM   #2
FrankenMauser

I'm just one man, with limited experience.

But...
I found vertical-draw shoulder holsters to be very close to useless if there are ANY layers on top of them.

Open-carry ... sure.

Concealed at all ... nope.
Old December 19, 2016, 06:03 AM   #3
rebs

I have a horizontal shoulder holster and it works great for me, I carry a Glock 30 in it.
Old December 19, 2016, 06:49 AM   #4
DaleA

Well, if you get something like an Uncle Mike's that attaches to your belt, you can eliminate your suspenders.

The vertical shoulder holster is actually good if you're sitting a lot. Or driving a lot.

Finding a good holster is a chore. One that I've NOT mastered.
Old December 19, 2016, 10:25 AM   #5
rickyrick

I have a Bianci or (however it's spelled)for the winter. Weird adjustments but is great once you get it set
Old December 19, 2016, 11:20 AM   #6
Dave P

I carry a 1911 vertical in mine. Works and conceals fine with a light shirt or flannel.. Not made for fast draw.
Old December 19, 2016, 06:30 PM   #7
rickyrick

Bianchi has a very strong spring that allows you to draw outward... hard to explain.
Old December 19, 2016, 06:35 PM   #8
rickyrick