The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old November 21, 2017, 06:54 PM   #1
dvdcrr

How to get steady in the field.

On a spot and stock hunt, in hills and canyons where positions are highly variable, with tall grass that prevents prone, possibly even with a pack, and no rock out croppings to use, I cannot figure out what to do. Sitting Harris bipod? Other? has to be VERY portable, and enable shots out to 300 yd on large deer.

Thanks!
"All warfare is based on deception. Hence when we are able to attack we must seem unable....when using our forces we must appear inactive. When we are near we must make the enemy believe we are far away."Sun Tzu The Art of War.
Old November 21, 2017, 07:18 PM   #2
Wyosmith

I have been hunting in steep country since I was 8 years old. The trick is simply to practice shooting from off-hand and sitting. On steep ground the sitting position will be useful but it's not like the way you sit on flat ground. You always have one foot down hill and one up-hill unless you are shooting almost straight down the fall-line of the hill.

But I'd bet nearly half the game I have killed in my 53 years of hunting was shot off-hand. The best "trick" I can give you is to go to steep ground and take your rifle and a LOT of ammo and shoot every week if you can. Use of a 22 was good in the old days when ammo was 29 cents a box.
Noting you can buy is a substitute for practice and just learning to shoot off-hand.

When you get to a point you can break clay birds about 100% of the time at 150 yards you will find that deer and elk at 250 are EASY. Deer at 400 from sitting are pretty easy too. And becoming a good off-hand shot improves all your other positions too.
Old November 21, 2017, 08:08 PM   #3
dvdcrr

I need recomendations on bipods and such.