The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Closed Thread

Old July 22, 2012, 11:50 AM   #1
Author

Walther PPK

I am a writer of spy novels. In my latest manuscript, which takes place during WW II, the gun used by the protagonist is a Walther PPK. My questions are these: Can a silencer be attached to a PPK? What is the maximum range of a PPK? Can you confirm that the PPK is an appropriate gun of choice for a WWII British spy?

Your comments are much appreciated as I value authenticity in my work.
Old July 22, 2012, 12:37 PM   #2
PSP

A PPK can be fitted with a suppressor provided it has a barrel threaded to recieve one. A normal, standard PPK, (or any other gun for that matter), could not simply have a "silencer" installed.

The PPK was popular from the late 1920s, so it would be an available and acceptable choice for concealed carry.

Beretta, FN and Browning made several models that would also be useful to a spy, real or in fiction.

Last edited by PSP; July 22, 2012 at 02:00 PM.
Old July 22, 2012, 12:58 PM   #3
sirgilligan

You have to decide on the caliber of the PPK as well.
9mm Browning also known in the US as the .380 ACP, and known as the 9mm Kurtz (9mm short).

Another caliber is the .32 ACP, a.k.a the Browning SR.

Look it up here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walther_PP

I am a bit of a James Bond fan and I know that Ian Flemming was counseled that the semi-auto pistol was not thought of as reliable and that an agent would have preferred a revolver. Flemming did not head that advice.

Effective range, in my opinion, less than 75 yards. That is my opinion, after that the bullet drop is significant.
Old July 22, 2012, 01:05 PM   #4
Creeper