The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Conference Center > Law and Civil Rights

Closed Thread

Old September 2, 2010, 07:17 AM   #1
bikerbill

If we get a 5th left-wing Justice ...

I'm not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV ... but I always know where to go to get a reasoned opinion on gun rights, so ...

What happens in the event Obama manages to get a 5th liberal on the Supreme Court, and on some black day they reverse Heller and McDonald ... what would that mean to me and my CHL here in Texas? Or in any other state with fairly relaxed gun possession and "Shall Issue" concealed carry laws? Would the states still be free to do as they wish, or would rulings like the ones I suggest above be the end of gun ownership as we know it now? It certainly would in places like Chicago and DC, but what about the states where citizens are trusted to own and carry guns for protection?

I'm guessing life would go on pretty much as it does now ... am I right?

Remember to vote in November!!
Old September 2, 2010, 09:20 AM   #2
armoredman

This is why we never relax.
Old September 2, 2010, 09:36 AM   #3
jmortimer

There is only Justice Kennedy between us and the destruction of the Second Amendment as we know it and the Tenth Amendment that is fostering Intrastate Gun Rights. The four insane Justices will absolutely destroy us. Fortunately we have four fantastic Justices, Chief Justice Roberts and Justice Thomas, and Justice Scalia and Justice Alito. Very few realize how close we are to destruction. Control of the Senate would be the best we can do until November 2012.
Old September 2, 2010, 09:55 AM   #4
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

There is a certain danger there but we're farther from that "dooms-day" scenario that it would first appear. Heller and McDonald couldn't have come any later. One swing vote the other way and we'd have lost.