The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Closed Thread

Old November 24, 2019, 04:08 PM   #1
OhioGuy

Why don't revolver carriers worry about capacity?

I'm new to owning a revolver, and I'm not asking this question to start any fights. But I noticed that amongst semi auto carriers, you get a range of heated opinions over whether 7 rounds, 15 rounds, or 30 rounds are ever "enough"

Given that a CCW revolver carries maybe 7 at most, depending on caliber, with 5 being typical -- and reloads are much more challenging even with practice -- do revolver carriers just have a different philosophy of what counts as "enough?"
Old November 24, 2019, 04:23 PM   #2
Lohman446

In another thread it is pointed out I am being fatalistic but I believe the hour of your death is appointed and the only say you have in it is how you face it.

I also believe that a situation that would require me to need more than 5 involves either one very competent and determined individual or likely multiple competent and determined individuals. I believe I know the limit of my own skills and I doubt, given the reactionary nature of not being the aggressor, that I can defeat multiple determined and competent attackers before I am overcome.

So for me I accept five. It’s highly unlikely I ever fire a single round in a combat situation. It’s orders of magnitude more unlikely I need more than 5. In the event I do need more than five it’s more orders of magnitude more unlikely that I would be successful in using them. I’m also not in a position where if I’m out of ammunition I suddenly have zero ability to defend myself.

So if I meet the Valkyries with an empty and smoking J frame I will have this befuddled look wondering how, living a fairly peaceful lifestyle in a relatively safe area of the modern world, I managed to die in combat. Considering all four of my grandparents died of cancer there are likely worse ways to go.