The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 31, 2002, 11:09 AM   #1
Alex49

bullet seating depth

I am trying to put together an accurate 308 load for my new PSS. I am using the sierra 168 gr hpbt with Varget powder. The manual calls for an oal of 2.800 but I was going to try to get the bullet just off the lands. I have gone out to 2.855 and still do not see rifling marks on the sooted bullet. This is my first time trying this, any help appreciated.

A
Old May 31, 2002, 11:21 AM   #2
Steve Smith

I always screwed up the sooted bullet technique. I purchased a Stoney Point OAL gauge and the bullet comparator. I could then find the rifling easier and without the mess.

Steve Smith
NRA Life Member
Old May 31, 2002, 01:05 PM   #3
Bogie

The real question here is do you want to use the magazine or not.

The factory barrel/chamber on the Remington won't let you still use the magazine if you seat the rounds out until you engage the rifling.

BTW, I don't soot 'em. I take 0000 steel wool, and polish the bullet, then I seat it far out in the case, then I jam it and record the OAL using the little Sinclair "measuring nut" that I have... Then I back off about 0.003-4", and work from there.

And making the world's greatest bottle openers!
Old May 31, 2002, 04:46 PM   #4
dfm

1.) Make up a dummy round with bullet length left intentionally long.

2.) Seat bullet to depth by chambering in gun against rifling.

3.) Put dummy round in seating die. Screw seater plug down to make contact with bullet. Remove dummy round. Turn seater plug down one full turn. Return dummy round to seater die and reseat bullet.

Not the most scientific method but it's served me well for a long time. Sometimes the OAL will be too long for the magazine. Then you have no recourse but to seat deeper if the gun is to be used as a repeater.

dfm
Old May 31, 2002, 05:25 PM   #5
Alex49