The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 22, 2002, 06:46 AM   #1
jw29650

small base dies

I am new to reloading rifle ammunition for semi-automatice rifles and heard that the brass should be sized with a small base die. What is the difference between a full length sizing die and a small base die? I will be loading .223 for an AR15.
Old May 22, 2002, 07:30 AM   #2
Pampers

Match Chamber?

Small Base Dies are required only for semi-autos with "tight" chambers. This includes Browning BARs, and some match chambered rifles.

The dies resize the bases of the cases somewhat smaller than do normal FL dies to allow the round to fully chamber, and to allow the rifle to go into battery.

Yr. Obt. Svnt.
NRA Golden Eagle
Old May 22, 2002, 09:38 AM   #3
Steve Smith

Don't do it!

So far, the only folks that I've know that needed to go to the small base die had exceptionally tight chambers, which are improper for use in an AR. The ones who have gone to them after having unreliable ammo were usually guys with RCBS standard dies. I put two and two together and saw that using standard RCBS dies commonly caused problems, so the knee jerk reaction was to use RCBS SB dies. SB dies work the brass too much.

Instead, try using a different brand of die altogether. Try Redding or Hornady FL but not SB dies.

The one I use is the Redding "s" type bushing die with a properly fitted bushing. But that's me.

Steve Smith
NRA Life Member
Old May 22, 2002, 10:18 AM   #4
Mike Irwin
Staff

Small-base dies are also useful with some lever-action rifles.

You'll know if you need to switch to small-base dies, though, due to chambering problems with your reloads.

Baby Jesus cries when the fat redneck doesn't have military-grade firepower.
Old May 25, 2002, 06:31 PM   #5
bowhnter

Quote: