The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old September 17, 2017, 04:09 PM   #1
Brutus

.357Mag and universal clays

Recently got back into the .357. For years I've used 8gr. of Unique or 7.5gr. of universal clays as a target load for .44mag. and .45 Colt with lead .240gr. and .250gr. SWC's. Looking for something similar for 158gr. SWC's in .357.
Tried 5.3gr of universal which shot OK but nothing stellar in the accuracy department. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
Old September 17, 2017, 05:21 PM   #2
Vulcannut

First I must say I am new to reloading. This being said I enjoyed what I shot through my 6inch Ruger Security Six and my little Charter Arms Mag Pug this last Friday which was 6.2 grains of HP38, CCI 550 magnum primer, Xtreme bullets 158 Plated SWC. They felt lighter than my 158 grain Freedom Munitions RN I had to compare them too. Not much lighter but a little.
Old September 18, 2017, 08:30 AM   #3
NoSecondBest

For several years I had access to unlimited amounts of Clays powders and I was shooting many thousands of rounds a year out of both handgun and shotgun. A couple of the handguns were custom built Coonan .357mags (original Coonans, not the current generation) and a couple of Bill Davis custom built revolvers. I NEVER got great groups with any Clays powder in handguns. It was good in shotguns, just not so good in handguns. Depends on what your expectations are for it. It was disappointing to me back then.
Old September 18, 2017, 08:36 AM   #4
BBarn

Don't recall trying Universal in the .357. I've been happy with W231 and HS-6 for medium power plated/jacketed 158 gr. 357 loads. Haven't done much with cast in the 357.
Old September 18, 2017, 11:19 AM   #5
bedlamite

In 357 mag I use 6.0gr of Universal under a plated 158gr. I've shot thousands of them over the years.
Old September 18, 2017, 11:34 AM   #6
NoSecondBest