The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old July 30, 2008, 01:38 PM   #1
Kragax

Open Bolt?

I was reading about full auto rifles a bit and there is a lot of reference to "firing from an open bolt". Could someone explain this for me? As far as I know with my rifles the bolt must be closed to fire. What keeps the round chambered? Where the heck is the firing pin. Ive never fired a full auto so it makes no sense to me.
Old July 30, 2008, 02:37 PM   #2
Lurch37

I'm no expert on this...but I did stay at a Holiday Inn once...

My understanding is that an open bolt refers to the firing pin being a part of the bolt itself so that when you pull the trigger the whole bolt goes forward to strike the primer of the cartridge.
Old July 30, 2008, 02:49 PM   #3
Scorch

Weapons that fire from an open bolt feed the rounds from the magazine as the bolt travels forward and fire upon closing the bolt, either by a fixed firing pin (slam-firing) or a delayed firing pin strike of some sort (two-piece bolt). Many submachineguns use a trigger that is just a hold-open device, when the trigger is depressed it allows the bolt to travel forward and the round fires. After the round fires, the bolt cycles back and forth and the gun keeps firing until the trigger is released. This is a cheap and very functional way to make low-pressure pistol round submachineguns, like the Sten or the M3 "grease gun".

Closed-bolt automatic firearms (like the M16 and AK47) have a mechanism to prevent them from firing before going into battery (locking) as they cycle between rounds and damaging the weapon. The closed-bolt design is typically reserved for higher-pressure rounds and/or more expensive weapons since it requires more parts to make.
Old July 30, 2008, 02:51 PM   #4
David Hineline