The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old August 18, 2002, 05:02 PM   #1
Lavan

TWO stud opening folders.

I'm no expert on martial arts or hand-to-hand combat, but I bet even a rank amateur could be a force to be reckoned with if he carried TWO knives.

I've seen pix in books of various disarming techniques, but they all seem to show how to grasp the knife hand to force a drop or cause pain.

Just seems to me that if the OTHER hand held a sharp folder that had been opened and it was used on whatever grabbed the other knife hand that it would be tough to defend against.

Whoever was trying to get at your knife hand would end up with his grabbing hand all sliced up in little strips.

And think of the confusion to the other party. Which knife to go for?

In the meantime, TWO nasty little snicks are poking and slicing away. Eeech.

Knives make me queasy, but with the gun CCW so hard to get in many areas, two razor sharp little folders could be a ticket to safety in many cases.

Or my idea is stupid. Gotta have an opinion, though.
Old August 18, 2002, 06:15 PM   #2
Blackhawk

Interesting thought.

If somebody came at me with a knife that I saw, I'd suspect that he's an amateur. If somebody came at me with two knives that I saw, I'd be VERY concerned...!

Glad I live in a CCW venue....
Old August 19, 2002, 12:11 AM   #3
mons-meg

If you can find a reputable Kali/Escrima type school in your area and go for a year or so, you might even look like you knew what you were doing.

Seriously, though, the double weapon/off hand training I have had makes me realize that if you face an opponent with two knives, your only real option is to leave. As far as I know, they don't even teach unarmed versus two weapon disarms.
Old August 19, 2002, 08:32 AM   #4
Hard Ball