The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old May 2, 2008, 05:21 PM   #1
Jeffdg

Opinion: Are these primers flattened?

Okay - I'm using what I think are safe loads - though it's darn near impossible to find good load data for .40 S&W w/180 gr FMJ. Some of these loads have less recoil than factory ammo (e.g. Winchester 165 Gr bullet).

So, the picture shows three loads (left three columns) and new reloads (right column) for primer comparison. I'm new to all this reloading and want to be sure I am not over (or under for that matter) loading.

The loads are as follows from leftmost column to right: all using 180 Gr. FMJ bullets and Winchester primers.

1. 4.6 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.125"
2. 4.9 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.125"
3. 5.2 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.160"

So, what do you think, are these flattened?

....If so, do you have suggested recipes for this (same bullet... but can use different powder if need be!).

Thank you!!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 40cal05cropped.jpg (115.3 KB, 228 views)
Old May 2, 2008, 05:24 PM   #2
rwilson452

They look good to me. From your picture you look to be well with in the safe range

Quote:
Okay - I'm using what I think are safe loads - though it's darn near impossible to find good load data for .40 S&W w/180 gr FMJ.

So, the picture shows three loads (left three columns) and new reloads (right column) for primer comparison. I'm new to all this reloading and want to be sure I am not over (or under for that matter) loading.

The loads are as follows from leftmost column to right: all using 180 Gr. FMJ bullets and Winchester primers.

1. 4.6 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.125"
2. 4.9 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.125"
3. 5.2 gr AA#2 with an OAL=1.160"

So, what do you think, are these flattened?

....If so, do you have suggested recipes for this (same bullet... but can use different powder if need be!).
Thank you!!
Old May 2, 2008, 05:26 PM   #3
dipper

Don't look flattened to me.