The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old January 3, 2014, 01:34 AM   #1
Coloradocent

Noob with a ? imr4350 stick and flake?

Hello everyone,
Even though I've read a ton of posts on here this is my first time posting a question.. I recently picked up a can of imr4350 and it's mixed with stick powder and flake. The last bottle I used was only stick but it was a bit older than the one I just bought. I wanted to see if my powder is fine or if there was a problem somewhere in the plant. I called Hodgen but the rep was more defensive than helpful. Any ideas why my powder is mixed?
Old January 3, 2014, 04:23 AM   #2
steve4102

Never seen that myself, gotta picture?
Old January 3, 2014, 05:11 AM   #3
HiBC

OK,you say you are a noob.

A rule to live by:Never,ever buy or otherwise use a can of powder that has been opened.Factory. sealed only!!

I assume you are talking H-4350.The same applies to IMR4350.It is a stick powder,Period.No mix of flake.

From what you say,you have a contaminated batch of powder.

Good rule #2.Only have one kind of powder out on your bench...the one you are using.If you have Accurate# 5 out,loading handgun ammo,and you leave it in the powder measure....

Then lateryou get out your 4350 to load 30-06,and oh,gosh,there is powder in the hopper!!So,two open jugs on the bench,the Accurate #5 gets accidently dumped in the 4350,or,you forgot what powder was in the hopper.

Empty the hopper when you are done.

My practice:If I leave any powder in the hopper,even if I'm "sure" what I was loading,I dump it.It goes on the lawn.

When the gun blows up,you will wonder who to blame,the gun,or Hogdon.

No!!Use laboratory practice!!Read labels twice,outloud.Maintain material tracability,etc.