The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Dave McCracken Memorial Shotgun Forum

Old January 25, 2001, 05:29 PM   #1
Frosty

I have a 12ga. Mossberg 835 Ultimag. It`s indicated that it has an "overbored barrel", is this good or bad? Also, do any other companies offer such a beast?
Old January 25, 2001, 10:45 PM   #2
deanf

It is my understanding that the 835's barrel is 10ga, although it's chambered for 12ga. Notice how your 12ga barrel brush seems to do a crappy job of cleaning the bore? Never can get the bore quite squeaky clean? It's 'cause you need to use a 10ga brush. They don't tell you that in the manual.

Advantages? I'm no shotgun expert, so I regurgitate from memory what I've read about the subject:

The overbored barrel apperently results in tighter shot pattern for a given range when compared to a standard 12ga barrel. Why? I don't know.
Old January 26, 2001, 12:46 AM   #3
Frosty

Yes, I did notice that a 12 ga. brush was a little loose and, while you mentioned cleaning I can`t seem to get the barrel clean. I do have a 10ga. brush and brushed the crap out of the barrel and the patches still come out black (dozens of patches). This gun is parkerized (black). I wonder if the inside of the barrel is also parkerized and I`m taking that out when cleaning. When I look down the barrel it never really looks "squeeky clean". I wonder if this stuff will ever come out and if I`m hurting it? Anybody else ever had this problem?

It does seem to hold a pretty tight pattern. I noticed with some 00 buck I was playing with I was getting a 1 foot pattern at 30-40 feet with i/c tube in place.
Old January 26, 2001, 07:28 AM   #4
Dave McC
Staff In Memoriam

Overboring started with the clay gamers,tho Nash Buckingham was doing some research on long range waterfowling in the 40s and 50s and used a Fox double with lengthened forcing cones and nigh 11 ga bbls.