The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Closed Thread

Old December 1, 2016, 03:53 AM   #1
Stainless_Steel

Revolver recoil question, health related

Hi!

I've been shooting recreationally for a couple years but couldn't since 2012 due to health issues affecting my tendons.
I decided to get back into it a couple months back and started with .22LR, but that got uninteresting pretty quickly for whatever reason.

Last week I tried a
686 6inch shooting Magtech .38SPL (158 Grain, 744FPS), and a
HK P30 shooting Magtech 9mm (124 Grain, 1109FPS).

The reason why I'm listing the ammo I shot is that the 686 felt really nice and soft shooting without issues and the P30 on the other hand had my right rotator cuff sore for 4 days or so (my weak tendons being the reason).
Since I'm in search for a new handgun right now I'd like to get recommendations from guys who shot the models I'm looking for and maybe even the 2 above.

Revolver I consider buying are the 627, 625 if I buy new or an used Colt King Cobra which is currently available at my gun store.
The 627 and the CKK should be fine shooting .38 specials but what about the 625? Would that be even more than the P30 in recoil?
(Other guns I like are the 1911 in .45 and the CZ75 in 9mm, and I might buy one of them as my 2nd gun next to the revolver.)

Excuse the long intro and stupid questions but that's what is floating in my head right now and as you may know if health is an issue one's ambitions don't always match what's realistically possible I guess. Just checking what you guys are thinking.

SS
Old December 1, 2016, 04:38 AM   #2
thibaultfelix40