The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Revolver Forum

Old May 20, 2010, 09:52 PM   #1
revolverrandy

what revolver did police use to carry?

back in the day when police officers carried revolvers as their service weapon,what brand/model and caliber did most carry?
Old May 20, 2010, 10:36 PM   #2
EdInk

S&W .38spcl
Old May 20, 2010, 10:43 PM   #3
tschmittel

I think S&W model 10 or M&P, or Colt police positves were pretty popular.
Old May 20, 2010, 10:45 PM   #4
vladan

All the models you can see these days going for 2-3 hundred bucks as a police turn-ins.
Old May 20, 2010, 11:02 PM   #5
kraigwy

Real Cops Carry Revolvers.

I was a cop in the Revolver days, The day I hired on I was given a wore out Model 15 Smith, which I promply truned in for the New Model 28s the dept got.

We were orginaly issued 158 GR RN Lead cast and loaded by trustees. Needless to say I carried my own Reloads, Cast 150 Grn SWCs (I still use that same mold today). Then they told us we couldnt carry reloads so I bought Winchester 158 Grn SWC, 357s.

I still have my Model 28, I was allowed to keep it when I retired. If I was to go back into police work today, my Model 28 would be my choice of carry.

Distinguished Rifle Badge 1071
Old May 20, 2010, 11:06 PM   #6
salvadore

Barney Fife carried a Colt Official Police.
Old May 20, 2010, 11:21 PM   #7
ewayte

kraigwy, are those the original stocks on your Model 28?
Old May 20, 2010, 11:26 PM   #8
Cheapshooter

S&W and Colts in 38 Spcl. I think the most popular was the S&W Mod 10 4" Heavy Barrel model. I believe in my state the Highway Patrol in the 60's were ahead of their times with S&W Model 39 9mm Semi-Autos.
Cheapshooter's rules of gun ownership #1: NEVER SELL OR TRADE ANYTHING!
Old May 20, 2010, 11:39 PM   #9
kraigwy

Quote:
kraigwy, are those the original stocks on your Model 28?