The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Art of the Rifle: General

Old August 24, 2018, 02:40 PM   #1
PAJoe1022

New to the Firearm Hobby, Got a Few Questions

Hello all, I just recently started getting into shooting and firearms. No doubt I'm a total newb. But allow me to start by saying before I even took possession of my first rifle, I studied firearm safety and range ettiquette over and over again, and in the short time I've owned my two guns I've become very concious and aware of firearm safety, so I've got that stuff down pat.

Where I need some direction is maintenance. I tend to over-maintain things and I want to make sure I am maintaining my rifles properly.

The two guns I own are a Savage Stevens Model 325-B Bolt Action .30-30, and I just bought a brand new Ruger 10/22 Carbine. The .30-30 was given to me by my dad who was given it to him by his dad who bought it new.

Now the .30-30 has not been fired in probably close to 20 years, it has been stored in a case the entire time. I was planning on taking it to a gunsmith and having them do a once-over on it to make sure it is safe to shoot.

As for the 10/22, I took it to the range yesterday and fired probably 50 rounds through it, just to get a feel for it. I didn't mess with the sights or anything, I really just wanted to see how it shot. Also I'm planning on putting a scope on it as soon as possible.