The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old June 24, 2017, 12:56 PM   #1
SIGSHR

Suppressors-Manufactured vs. Homemade

The debate over the legalization of suppressors/silencers make me wonder how
many would buy as opposed to using homemade ones. I have zero experience with any "professionally" made ones, years ago a college buddy and I bought some of "those" books, went out in the woods one dark night and....I thought most of them were pretty effective if somewhat clumsy and awkward and what they lacked in sophistication and durability they made up for with low cost and ease of manufacture and replacement.
Old June 24, 2017, 03:12 PM   #2
ShootistPRS

I doubt that many people will stick plastic soda bottles on the end of a gun if they want a muffler. If you fill them with cotton, to make them quiet, they affect accuracy. A good well designed muffler is well worth the money you spend. I believe that most will buy the muffler unless they have the proper tools to make one. Even folks like me that have the tools and the knowledge to make them will find it more work than fun after the first one we make. How often do you make your own bolts, nuts, and washers? It's just easier to go buy what you need.
Old June 24, 2017, 09:37 PM   #3
Bluecthomas

I have fired both types at one point.
The actual suppressor was on a ati 1911 .45. does reduce noise, could skip the ear protection and still hear the next day. But adds a large amount of nose weight and obscured the sights, making aiming more of a feeling your shot thing.

Buddy of mine did a homemade one. Plastic bottle stuffed with paper towels on a .40 Ruger semi auto rifle. Limited use as you are destroying it every shot, but far more of the movie style noise reduction.

If you want to go out in the woods and shoot without ear protection, get a suppressor and sights that work with it.
If you want to fire silently in a criminal action you will still probably get busted for...