The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old March 23, 2019, 11:38 PM   #1
Crapshoooter2

Why is F.P.S. so much different than Reloading Data

Hi Crapshoooter2 again with a reloading question. I'm new to reloading but have gone thru all the reloading steps for the last three months. Decided to do my first reloads using Lyman 50th year manual. I have a bolt action, 26 inch Krieger bull barrel 1:12 twist. I decide to start with a Sierra 55 gr and a Sierra 52 gr. All cases are trimmed to 1.750, full sized and loaded with Benchmark powder. I started at the suggested starting grain per the load data for each bullet 52 gr bullet 23.1 grains of powder, 55 gr bullet 22.7gr. Bullets set so that O.A.L. was to data spec. 2.250 and 2.260 respectfully. No problems chambering or extracting, cases were new. I used two scales, one digital and one balance beam, calibrated and trickler to check each load to a pretty accurate like charges for each round They all fired fine with nice groups. I did not use a chronograph because of range conditions, so I don't know the F.P.S.

Yesterday I load 5 rounds of the 52 and 55 with 24.6 gr of powder. Why? Because I just wanted to see how the two bullets compared using the same amount of powder. This was still well below the Max Load as stated in the load data which was 25.7gr for 52 bullet and 25.3gr for the 55 bullet. Went to the range and used chronograph to check the loads. Also took 5 rounds of Hornady 55 gr SP manufactured ammo.

Fired the rounds and recorded the F.P.S. Went I got home and compared the recorded speeds to the load data speeds, I was some what surprised.

The load data said that the 52 gr bullet at max powder load 25.7gr would be around 3251 F.P.S. and the 55 gr bullet at max powder load of 25.3 would be 3137 F.P.S.