The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old May 19, 2016, 03:10 PM   #1
desibaba

What exactly makes a 1911 so much more expensive?

I am fairly new to firearms so please excuse my ignorance but I am curious about the 1911 pistols. I own Springfield XDm 9mm 4.5 inch and out the door with taxes I paid under $600 for my gun. My gun has overall received great reviews at every 3rd party source I looked at. What exactly makes a 9mm 1911 such as this one so much more expensive? Is it the parts? The amount of labor it takes to make one? Obviously a Chevy Aveo and a Mercedes E Class both get driven and both have 4 wheels but there is no comparison between them. Is that the same case between a 1911 and a regular 9mm. I saw this one and the price is mind blowing.

http://shop.bravocompanymfg.com/Brav...m-1911-9mm.htm
Old May 19, 2016, 03:18 PM   #2
Roughedge

To get a good 1911 there is a lot of hand fit parts that takes time. If you build one with quality part it will be a grand for the parts and 10 to 20 hours of fitting.
All you have to do with a XDm is put it together.
Old May 19, 2016, 03:42 PM   #3
RickB

Check out the price of even a cast 1911 frame; $150-$250, depending on features. A frame fully machined from a forging can cost twice as much.
Contrast that with a plastic-framed gun that is probably $5-worth of plastic and a metal insert that's cast and then minimally finish-machined.

If you took apart a half-dozen Springfield Armory 1911s, you could probably swap the parts around without much trouble, but if you tried to swap parts between a Springfield and a Les Baer or Ed Brown pistol, it would be like swapping parts between a Chevy and a Mercedes.

If everyone in the business built "1911s" to military specs, it wouldn't be an issue, as was proved during WWII when completely interchangeable pistols were made by five different companies.
Old May 19, 2016, 04:38 PM   #4
James K
Member In Memoriam