The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The North Corral > Lock and Load: Live Fire Exercises

Old January 2, 2017, 09:45 PM   #1
ndbbm

Sniper training

Hello everyone,
I am a police officer in New Jersey and one of 5 guys assigned as our departments DM/O part time. We train at least once a month and feel like we are getting stagnant. Was looking to see if anyone had any "out of the box" training scenarios that you do. Thanks in advance for any input!
Old January 3, 2017, 08:09 AM   #2
g.willikers

Since you aren't getting any results with your original question, maybe more information might be a motivator.
What are you doing now for training?
Old January 3, 2017, 11:53 AM   #3
T. O'Heir

PD snipers aren't trained the same way as military snipers. And don't need to be. PD snipers aren't really snipers at all, anyway. They're sharp shooters. Different thing. You don't have to slither through the local flora, in mud, without being seen to a shooting position. You find a spot on or in a building with a clear line of sight. If you're seen going there or being there, you don't get shot.
Suggest you read all your local after action reports/analysis', assuming there are any(If not, start doing it.) and work up a training plan to cover any unforeseen issues.
What you need is an unknown distance(likely not very long either), multiple level/angle range. Probably using IPSC/IDPA style hostage targets. No idea if that even exists, anywhere. Never mind NJ.
Might be doable with minimum budget with ladders or scaffolding, etc., on whatever range you're shooting on now. No money means you need to be creative.
One assumes there are 5 scoped rifles.
Old January 5, 2017, 12:58 PM   #4
DPI7800

My suggestion is reach out to the larger agencies around the country that have full time teams. Once they are able to verify your credentials, they will be more than happy to help you with your training.

I am not going to discuss this type of training over a public forum.