The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old November 28, 2008, 11:08 PM   #1
ChristopherG

new dog, time for some hare-y fun!

I just got a four month old beagle girl. She's a purebred. she came with a 5 generation pedigree and she has some real good champion descendants in her line. on sale at the dang pet store for black friday! I have begun training her and by next summer she is going to be an amazing hunting dog! I hope.. this is my first time with a hunting dog. I trained my rat terrier to behave well in our home but this is a new undertaking. any tips will help!
Old November 28, 2008, 11:51 PM   #2
hogdogs
Staff In Memoriam

CG, A 6 month old pup is not capable of having decedents... Just pickin' on your choice of word... Good luck with the pup... How recent is her last working relative up her line? That is what we base our search on in the hog dog shopping. Not that a dog won't work if their parents didn't or there is any guarantee that a dog with working parents is going to work just a better shot at it. I don't know beagles much but I am glad to hear of a work dog getting a crack at a working life.
Brent
Old November 29, 2008, 05:00 AM   #3
shortwave