The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Tactics and Training

Old September 10, 2019, 04:21 PM   #1
spthomas

Shooting with other eye

I have been shooting handguns, rifles, and shotguns for 50 years. I'm primarily a handgunner, but I do have rifles and shotguns and enjoy shooting them too. Two years ago, I went blind. When all was said and done I had recovered signt in my left (weak side) eye. I do not see out of my right eye.

I have been to the range with handguns, and was pleased to find out my shooting had not changed at all, and might actually be better! When I go into shooting stance, I worried my gun arm would not line up quickly with my left eye after being right dominant all my life. But to my surprise, the hand came up in front of my left eye, sight picture was fine, and my shooting was great and just as intuitive as I could have hoped.

I have not tried rifles or shotguns yet. My go to defence shotgun is an Ithaca Model 37, which ejects shells down. So I don't forsee a problem there, unless the sight picture is a problem, and I think it's ok based on my pistol results. But the rifles! I can't sight down the barrel of a right handed rifle with my right eye not seeing. And my left eye is not on the sight plane at all.

There is also the problem with things like my AR, even if i try to shoot it left handed, the empties will eject across my face or into it! And what about bolt action guns? Working the bolt off handed might be a problem.

So, does anyone have any experience with this? Just how does a right handed shooter who no longer has a right eye do this? Do I need to buy all new guns?

Thanks!

Steve
Old September 10, 2019, 04:30 PM   #2
TunnelRat