The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old August 9, 2020, 08:08 AM   #1
John22

Ruger Charger ... Who else has one?

I had been intending on picking up a Ruger Charger for around maybe three years now. I knew I wanted to set it up with a brace so I started collecting the necessary parts that I might need. Ordered an adapter, bought a brace, a friend gave me a brand new trigger assembly off of his 10/22 because he purchased an upgraded one ... I took it apart and followed a Youtube video on how to slick up a trigger assembly, Someone threw away an old 10 round mag that I brought home and cleaned stuffed it full of rounds and flipped them out with my thumb to check for any visible issues. All this with no Charger or 10/22 in my goodie bag/ toy locker.
Well finally decided to make the move and pick one up. Yes now, when new and used guns are hard to find annywhere because of the covid scare. My LGS is a Ruger major account and happened to have one on the shelf. I paid them on the spot and filled out the paperwork then waited a long 48 hour time period for the background check to clear. Once home I proceeded to put together the goodies robbed the red dot off of my 22/45 and waited for the weekend to give her a whirl.
Why on Gods green earth did I wait so long...
This little gun is a ball to shoot and quite accurate. It chugged along and ate up every ammo I put into it. Yes the 10 rounder worked flawless too.
Here are its first 4 rounds shot at 15 yards to see where the red dot was sighted... I made no changes and started shooting at broken pieces of clay on the 25 yard berm. Perfect right on the money.

After this picture I added a 3/4" riser under the red dot to make it more comfortable to shoot... no more craning my neck.