The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting > Bullet Casting

Old May 7, 2018, 12:20 PM   #1
Wendyj

Slugged my Microgroove 30-30

I have never done this before but size seems off. I ran some rem oil through the bore of clean rifle. Lubed an egg sinker with Lee brass lube. Tapped it in and used a plastic punch until about 1 inch in the bore. I used a rod and pushed the bullet through with no issues by hand. I can see rifling all over the lead but it measured out low end at .300 and high end .305.5

Isn't that undersized for a 308 bore? I am trying to find out why it won't shoot the 165 grain Missouri white tail bullets I bought less than shotgun patterns. Bullet is lubed no gas checks and sized at .311. Not having much luck with loading for this rifle. Have also loaded up jacketed Sierra SP with IMR 3031 powder and groups are worse. I finally found a box of Remington 170 cor locs to try through it next range trip but not expecting much better. I would rather load my own. Is the sizing off? I ran two through since I was getting the erratic readings. I thought cast was to be .01 or .02 over slugged size.
Old May 7, 2018, 12:35 PM   #2
Chainsaw.

I am by no means an expert on the subject of either slugging bores or micro groove barrels so Ill just say this, I THOUGH I had heard that they do tend to run tight.

On your accuracy issues, have you tinkered with the cartridge over all length, i.e. how far into the case you are seating the bullet? Also did you find a velocity node that works?
Old May 7, 2018, 01:57 PM   #3
FrankenMauser

I wouldn't feel confident about those dimensions.
It should be closer to .306/.308.

My suggestion:
Make sure the calipers are zeroed and you're not skewing the reading with excessive pressure or sloppy jaws.