The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > NFA Guns and Gear

Old November 22, 2020, 01:17 PM   #1
rep1954

Braced TAC-14 Question

If you have a braced TAC-14 can you leave the pistol grip and extension tube on the gun and remove the arm brace as long as the OAL of the complete gun is 26”+ and still remain non NFA.
Old November 22, 2020, 04:35 PM   #2
HiBC

I assume a TAC-14 is an AR pistol that meets all the requirements of an AR pistol.
I'm not a lawyer,don't consider this legal advice.

Who knows where the goal posts will be moved in the future.

As I understand it,at this point an AR pistol is legit . The issue may be the brace
functioning as a shoulder stock.

Removing the brace removes that issue it would seem to me. But I'm not your friendly local BATF Agent.
Old November 22, 2020, 04:50 PM   #3
rep1954

No the TAC-14 is not a AR15 pistol it is listed as a “firearm”. It has a 14” smooth bore barrel and the weapon is 26”+ in length. It comes with a long non vertical grip or with a AR15 style vertical grip matched with a pistol brace.
Old November 22, 2020, 05:22 PM   #4
HiBC

OK,I can't help you.
Old November 23, 2020, 02:07 AM   #5
raimius

(not a lawyer or BATFE agent)
From what I understand the length measurements are based on functional parts of the firearm. That is why the grip is rather long in some shotgun-like "non-NFA firearms." I would look at how long it is with all the required/non-folding parts. Using a non-functional extension as part of the OAL is a really gray area, and the ATF is prone to reversing their standards in very arbitrary ways.
Old November 26, 2020, 11:58 AM   #6
rep1954

So my reason for asking is my TAC-14 has become a shorter barreled version with a SB brace. So I guess if the brace ruling changes again I will have to get a new barrel, or SBS it, or build a new raptor grip bringing it to 26” correct.
Old November 26, 2020, 08:25 PM   #7
dogtown tom

Quote: