The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Hide > The Hunt

Old May 8, 2019, 06:38 PM   #1
TheScout

New to hunting

Hi there. I've been thinking about getting into hunting small game. I love practicing my marksmanship with a rifle, but would like to put the skills I've picked up to some practical use. Also, I've always been interested in learning how to stalk and hunt game. I live in Arizona, and there's a big piece of land by my house that I thought I could hunt in. I figured I'd be hunting dove, quail, and maybe a cotton tail. I plan to use an air rifle, a Daisy Power Line 880 (I will soon a get Gamo). I have a .22lr, but I'm worried it will be too loud. As I said, I'm new to this. No one in my family has ever really hunted (I think my Grandpa did?) I have a neighbor who hunts, but he hunts white tails with a bow. Could I ask him for advice? Please, any advice helps. Barrage me with facts and suggestions if you must. I want to learn as much about this as I can, before I get into it. Thank you so much!
Old May 8, 2019, 07:02 PM   #2
Pahoo

Hunting is a way of life !!!

Quote:
No one in my family has ever really hunted (I think my Grandpa did?) I have a neighbor who hunts, but he hunts white tails with a bow.
I also come from a family that doesn't hunt and to this day, I still can't figure out why. You sound like a young man and that is good as you have many miles to go, on this learning curve. …

It's my sincere belief and experience that some of your better hunters, started in archery. Hunting is a personal activity rather than a hobby, In my book, hunting is a way of life. …..

Quote:
I love practicing my marksmanship with a rifle, but would like to put the skills I've picked up to some practical use.