The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > Hogan's Alley > Handguns: The Semi-automatic Forum

Old April 19, 2019, 07:30 AM   #1
rcollier

Good entry level 1911 9mm

Looking at entering into the 1911 zone!
I really don’t want to drop $1000 on a new pistol. What would be a good choice for $700-800 range?
I am a complete novice with this type of handgun as I have always had stryker
Handguns

Thanks

Last edited by rcollier; April 19, 2019 at 08:54 AM.
Old April 19, 2019, 07:54 AM   #2
1stmar

$550 or less rock island, $700-800 Springfield.

Cant go wrong w this. https://grabagun.com/springfield-px9...11a1-auto.html
Old April 19, 2019, 08:04 AM   #3
darkgael

Not sure at all what the difference is between an entry level pistol and one that isn’t.
Buy the best tools you can afford. There are any number of reliable, accurate 9mm pistols on the market and in your price range. Glock, Sig, Beretta, Ruger all make multiple models well within your price range.
More important is what you are going to do with it....that will determine size, mag capacity. Rtc
Old April 19, 2019, 08:13 AM   #4
odugrad

I think he's asking specifically for 1911s.

I would look at Springfield for sure.
Old April 19, 2019, 08:56 AM   #5
railroader

I have this 9mm kimber two tone 1911. It's a very nice gun for the money. It runs good and looks great. You can buy them here for $629 with free shipping.

https://www.smga.com/kimber/custom-i...-9mm-2017-1342
Old April 19, 2019, 08:58 AM   #6
rcollier

Quote:
Originally Posted by odugrad View Post
I think he's asking specifically for 1911s.

I would look at Springfield for sure.
Yes looking at 1911 platform. I currently have a Ruger LC9s and. Sig 320 looking to add the 1911 for range fun mainly
Old April 19, 2019, 09:03 AM   #7
mikejonestkd

Springfield, ruger or colt make quality 1911s that won't break the bank.

I recommend the springfield range officer in 9mm. The Colt competition model is also an excellent choice