The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old July 26, 2009, 08:23 AM   #1
kamelryttarn

429 HBWC for soft 44 loads

In a few weeks I should receive my T/C Contender and a few different barrels for it. One of the barrels I have ordered is the 14" 44 Magnum. I have already bought some 220 grains copper plated hollow base wadcutters I would like to try in it, but what powder should i try? The load data shows only one powder easily available here in Sweden, and all loads are based on magnum cases fired from a S&W 629 revolver. The data does not indicate if it is starting or max load but I assume it's starting. Since I will have a lot more barrel to play with I would like to try a real slow burning powder, maybe even a fast rifle powder. I am very new to reloading so bare with me here. I plan to use magnum cases and Federal primers. I probably CAN get hold of US brand powders but it will take some extra time since they will have to make a special order, so if you have any different Vihtavuori powder to suggest I would be grateful.

(a few Hodgdon powders are also available in a few stores around here but not all)

http://www.hn-sport.de/geschosse/kur...hollowbase.htm
Old July 26, 2009, 09:15 AM   #2
RidgwayCO

VihtaVuori N110 is usually touted as their .44 Magnum powder for full power loads. I'm not sure that's what you want with this bullet, however.

From looking at the data in the link you provided, it looks like you'll want the quicker powders like N320 and N330 with this bullet. With hollow base wadcutters, too much pressure can remove the skirt from the bullet and leave it in the barrel. Not good!

To maximize the performance of your 14" Contender, I'd recommend N110 with a 240-300gr jacketed bullet.

Here's the most recent VihtaVuori loading data:

http://www.lapua.com/fileadmin/user_...oguide2009.pdf

Enjoy!
Old July 26, 2009, 11:06 AM   #3
kamelryttarn