The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old November 20, 2011, 03:02 PM   #1
Spydr1299

Stray bullet

Hey guys, question for the vets, or anyone who knows the answer...

I'm fairly new to reloading, about 3 months in. I've seen how much it can make a difference in my groups and am very pleased. For the past month or so, I think I have found a good load for my rifle, but every once in a while, a round or two will stray about 2-3 inches off the rest of the groupings. This is about out of 10 or so rounds. I keep all my loads the same but still have those couple of strays and would like to know what it is I can do to keep them contained like the rest of the group. Feels like I'm missing something. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

My loads for 100yds:

Remington 700sps .223 bolt action
55g v-max
Remington cases
Cci small rifle primer no. 550
22.3g of H335
Old November 20, 2011, 03:14 PM   #2
603Country

I don't know how much case prep you do, but it could be an 'offspec' case or two that's causing the problem. Mark the cases that the flyers came out of and if it happens again throw away those cases. I used that toss method years ago before I was really into case prep and case weights and all of that. I didn't even have cases from the same lot, though they were all the same manufacturer. If I knew that my hold had been good and I still got a flyer, I'd pitch the case or at least mark it. Once I got down to 50 or 60 cases that had passed the no-flyer test, accuracy was terrific.
Old November 20, 2011, 03:28 PM   #3
TXGunNut

I've been chasing the answer to that question for about 30 yrs now and quite often it seems the only variable I can't control is the loose nut behind the trigger.