The Firing Line Forums

Go Back   The Firing Line Forums > The Skunkworks > Handloading, Reloading, and Bullet Casting

Old April 30, 2014, 06:38 PM   #1
JUSTinTYME

Reloading for the 30-06

I pulled some bullets out of some 7.62x51 I had laying around. Naturally they measure out to .308. I was going to use these bullets to reload for my 30-06. When I weighed them they came out to be 143 grains. My question is, should I use load data for a 140 grain bullet and be extremely conservative? I'm new to reloading and this is my first venture into rifle so far. You guys helped a lot for my pistol reloads and I know you'll help me here. Thanks in advance.
Old April 30, 2014, 06:40 PM   #2
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

3gr won't make a wit of difference. Load them to 140gr data and don't worry a second. Start low and work up, like always.
Old April 30, 2014, 06:41 PM   #3
JUSTinTYME

Thank you Brian! Somehow, I knew you would end up helping me out here to lol
Old April 30, 2014, 06:50 PM   #4
Brian Pfleuger
Moderator Emeritus

Ha! You're welcome.

Just as an example... the difference between 130gr and 150gr in Hodgdon data for IMR3031 is 3.6gr. Assuming it's more or less linear, each grain of bullet weight would change the charge by 0.18gr. So, in theory at least, a 143gr bullet would use 0.54gr less than a 140gr.

That assumes all else is equal. All else isn't equal, so 0.5gr is no more than a guesstimate.

There's only a 2.0gr difference with H414, so 3gr bullet difference would only be 0.3gr powder.

If you really want to feel safe, look at the difference between two bullet weights with your powder of choice and do the math... or just don't worry about it. The differences in primers, chambers, brass, powder lots and bullets more than covers a 3.0gr difference in a 140gr bullet.
Old April 30, 2014, 09:49 PM   #5
NWPilgrim

Agree with Brian, it is a trivial weight difference and you will be working up from minimum listed load anyway.